Friday, April 17, 2015

Cost of Life by Joshua Corin (4.5 stars)

About Cost of Life

On Sale: March 17, 2015
Pages: 274
Published by : Alibi

For readers of Preston & Child, James Rollins, and Brad Thor comes a gripping new thriller from Joshua Corin, in which an audacious hijacking is just the beginning of a twisted international nightmare.

Happy Independence Day. You’re all going to die. 

Life can’t be better for veteran pilot Larry Walder. He has a great job, a terrific kid, a gorgeous wife—and no inkling that tonight will be the end of the world as he knows it. In the early hours before the Fourth of July, three men break into Larry’s home. And as the day lurches on to its terrifying course, a life is taken, and Flight 816 from Atlanta to Cozumel, Mexico, vanishes off the radar.

In the air, Larry must find a way to save his family, his crew, and his passengers. On the ground, disgraced FBI agent Xanadu Marx goes rogue, making it her mission to track down the missing flight before the hijackers reach their diabolical endgame. With the casualties racking up and the world’s busiest airport under lockdown, a message arrives: This is no ordinary hijacking, no typical hostage crisis. This ransom is a totally different beast—the first hint of a conspiracy that might bring America to its knees.

Advance praise for Cost of Life
 
“In Cost of Life, Joshua Corin turns a humdrum airline flight into a ride on an F-15 with a smoking engine—fast, terrifying, and oh so fun. I loved the writing. Corin’s whip-smart dialogue crashed me straight into a world of fascinating characters and complicated allegiances. I couldn’t stop reading until the wheels touched down on that final tarmac.”—Rebecca Cantrell, New York Times bestselling author of The World Beneath


“Fraught with danger and surprises, Cost of Life is a tale chock-full of action, adventure, and intrigue. Treachery comes from all directions, so consider yourself warned.”—Steve Berry, New York Timesbestselling author of The Lincoln Myth

“In Cost of Life, Joshua Corin brings us Xanadu Marx, a tough but vulnerable ex–FBI agent who literally pulls no punches. Corin’s sure-footed handling of plot, character, and voice is the kind of writing that inspires authors like me to up their game.”—Robert Gregory Browne, author of Whisper in the Dark



Purchase Links

Review

Life can change in an instant, especially when a madman's involved. Pilot Larry Walder goes to bed a happy man and wakes up a desperate husband and father. To save his family, he must play a madman's game--in the air, no less. 

Then, the FBI--and a struggling agent named Xana--get involved. They have very little information to go on. Many lives hang in the balance. 

After a quick setup, this story takes off and never lets up. It's an edge-of-your-seat thriller with high emotional stakes. There are lives lost and many desperate moments. Every time I thought I might know where things were heading, the story took a turn. Nobody was safe, and it was terrifying. 

Usually these type of books only stimulate our senses, but I found myself emotionally invested in several characters. First and foremost was Xana. There's nothing simple or easily defined about her. She's messed up and doesn't play by the rules. But she's strong, quick, and determined. There was also a flight attendant who captured my heart even though she was only in a small portion of the story.

I was also intrigued by the underlying questions in the conflict. After all, what is the cost of life? 

If you love a book packed with action but also appreciate caring about the characters, grab a copy of Cost of Life. It's a quick, exciting, and gut-wrenching read.

Rating: 4.5 stars

joshua-corin
About Joshua Corin 

Joshua Corin is the author of Nuclear Winter Wonderland, While Galileo Preys, andBefore Cain Strikes. He holds an M.A. in English and an M.A. in theater from Binghamton University, and currently teaches college in Atlanta, Georgia.

Thanks to TLC for my review copy.

Note: I received a complimentary copy for review purposes. A positive review was not requested or guaranteed; the opinions expressed are my own.
 
Please visit other stops on the Cost of Life blog tour page.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Katie and the North Star by Katie and Bethany Lopez Release & Giveaway

I'm so excited to share a new children's book by Katie and Bethany Lopez, Katie and the North Star!

This book is suitable for children four and up, and is available now in ebook and paperback!
Cover Design by Regina Wamba of Mae I Design
Illustrations by Hetty Mitchell

Katie and the North Star is a book filled with adventure, joy, and imagination. Join Katie as she learns why she can't keep the North Star all to herself.


Follow Katie and Bethany:
Twitter  

Katie and Bethany Lopez are a mother and daughter writing team. Katie is currently navigating through the first grade. She loves reading, writing, and Shopkins. Bethany writes stories for all ages. She enjoys writing full time, and spending time with her family. Katie and the North Star is their first collaboration.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Katie and the North Star by Katie Lopez

Katie and the North Star

by Katie Lopez

Giveaway ends April 15, 2015. See the giveaway details at Goodreads.
Enter to Win
If you would like to sign up to receive a review copy, be a part of the tour, and be entered into a $25 Giveaway, please sign up at Mother Daughter Book Reviews!

Thursday, April 9, 2015

More than Water by Renee Ericson Cover Reveal

COVER REVEAL

3

2

1

.

.

.

MORE THAN WATER
Author: Renee Ericson
Genre: New Adult Romance

~ SYNOPSIS ~
It doesn’t feel right. It doesn’t feel wrong. It just...feels.

EJ Cunning, an art history major, dates musicians. Foster Blake, a chemical engineering major, can’t sing a tune. They’re not each other’s type. They’re coworkers.

Then, one night leads to sex—sex between friends—which leads to an agreement. It all seems so simple—but nothing ever is.

Many layers build a person’s facade.

Look into the depths for what’s hidden within.

It’s more than water. It’s a story—a living and breathing substance beyond the reflective surface. 



~ COVER DESIGNER ~
RE Creatives
~ TEASERS ~


~ ABOUT THE AUTHOR ~

Renee Ericson is the author of the These Days series.

Originally from the Midwest, she now resides in a small town just outside of Boston with her husband and three children.

Most winters, Renee can be found on the slopes of the White Mountains skiing with her family. During the summer months, she likes to spend every spare minute at the beach soaking up the sea air. All those moments in between, she is talking to imaginary characters and caring for her children.

Social media links:

Tour Host:
HEA BOOK TOURS PR & MORE

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Love & Recipes by Bethany Lopez Release


We're celebrating the release of Love & Recipes: Food Inspired by Bethany Lopez Novels

Title: Love & Recipes: Food Inspired by Bethany Lopez Novels
Author: Bethany Lopez
Cover designed by: Cassy Roop of Pink Ink Designs

About Love & Recipes

Bethany Lopez has loved writing for as long as she can remember, but her love of cooking came a little bit later in life. In Love & Recipes, she combines the two into one fun cookbook. With recipes ranging from easy to difficult, she’s incorporated dishes for every home cook. And, because each dish comes from the pages of her fiction novels, each recipe references back to the book and/or character from which the dish derived. Whether making a quick dinner for two, or looking for that perfect dish to bring to your family’s holiday dinner, Love & Recipes has the dish for you!

S’Mores Brownies & Ghost Stories
In xoxoxo, Melissa’s family goes to the lake for the weekend. One night, around the fire, they’re making S’Mores and their dad is trying to tell a ghost story, but little brother Mikey keeps trying to guess what’s going to happen next.

I decided to do something different than just S’mores, so I made them brownie-style. I hope you like them, we sure did!

Prep Time ~ 10 Minutes
Cook Time ~ 40 Minutes
Yields 12 Brownies

Items You’ll Need:
½ cup Butter, melted
1 cup Sugar
2 Eggs
1 tsp. Vanilla
1/3 cup Cocoa Powder
½ cup Flour
½ tsp. Baking Powder
1 cup Mini Marshmallows
1 cup Chocolate Chips
1 tbsp. Graham Cracker Crumbs

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9-inch square pan with shortening. In a large bowl, mix together butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla, cocoa powder, flour and baking powder. Pour the batter into the greased pan, scraping the sides of the bowl to get all of the brownie mix out.

Bake uncovered for 20 – 30 minutes, inserting a toothpick after 20 to see if the brownies are cooked through. It’s okay for there to be a little mix on the toothpick, because you are going to sprinkle the marshmallows, chocolate chips, and graham cracker crumbs on top of the brownies, and put back in the oven for 5 to 10 minutes, or until the marshmallows have expanded and browned. Cool the brownies before eating.

Variations: Use a disposable tin pan for easy cleanup.

About the Author

Award-Winning Author Bethany Lopez began self-publishing in June 2011. Since then she has published various YA and NA books. She is a lover of romance, family, and friends, and enjoys incorporating those things in what she writes. When she isn't reading or writing, she loves spending time with her husband and children, traveling whenever possible.

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bethany-Lopez/214630865247702